Missouri JEA.

MJEA Board of Directors

Here are the current board of directors for MJEA. Board elections will take place in the spring of 2021.

Co-Presidents: Sarah Kirksey ([email protected]), Jordyn Kiel ([email protected])

Sarah Kirksey advises the Panorama newspaper and Rambler yearbook at Ladue Horton Watkins High School in St. Louis. Kirksey has a background in photography and often spends her free time photographing families, portraits and weddings. Kirksey is a 2018 JEA Rising Star recipient and is currently in her 6th year of teaching and advising journalism.

Jordyn Kiel advises the Excalibur Yearbook staff and co-advises the FHN media program at Francis Howell North High School in St. Louis, MO. She teaches introductory journalism courses throughout the day, including writing and photojournalism. Kiel is a 2017 JEA Rising Star recipient, is currently in her 6th year of teaching and advising journalism and has been involved in various state and national organizations since the start of her career, including NSPA, Quill and Scroll, JEA and CSPA.

Vice President: Kyle Carter ([email protected])

Kyle Carter, CJE, is the yearbook advisor, business teacher, and varsity head baseball coach at Richland R-1 School in Essex, Missouri. His work has been featured in: Sports Illustrated, USA Today, Time Magazine, The Oprah Winfrey Show, the National Enquirer, The Telegraph (London), Los Angeles Times, U.S. State Department publications and on various companies’ Major and Minor League baseball cards as well as other national and international publications. Carter was a JEA national Rising Star Award recipient in 2016 and the MJEA Rising Star Award recipient in 2015. He continues his freelance photography work around his “day job” as a high school teacher. He and his wife, Kim, have two children: Kylee age 10 and Ryan age 8.

Treasurer: Erin Moeckel ([email protected])

Erin Moeckel serves as the journalism adviser at Mehlville High School is South St. Louis County. She has advised Mehlville Media since 2006. Moeckel stays plugged into the journalism community and enjoys helping other advisers stay connected. She graduated with her Bachelor of Journalism from the University of Missouri in 2004 and her Master of Arts in Teaching from Missouri Baptist University in 2009. Moeckel lives in Oakville with her husband Brian and four children.

Web and Social Media Chair: Matthew Schott ([email protected])

Matthew Schott is the publications adviser at Francis Howell Central High School in St. Charles, in his 14th year advising all publications there. FHC Publications consists of newspaper, yearbook, web, broadcast and literary magazine. In addition, he teaches Journalism I, Digital Photojournalism and Video Journalism. Prior to entering education, he was a graphic designer for newspapers in St. Joseph, Key West, Fla., and Chicago, where he originally hails from. He is a graduate of Truman State University and is married to his wife Angela – an assistant principal at Green Pines Elementary in Wildwood – and has two kids Noah, 13, and Sydney, 10.

Individual Programming Chair: Jonathan Hall ([email protected])

Jonathan Hall is the publications adviser at Liberty High School (Wentzville School District). This is his fifth year at Liberty and 15th year as a teacher. He has also been an adviser at McCluer North High School (Ferguson-Florissant School District). He teaches journalism, yearbook, magazine, online news and broadcast. Prior to becoming a teacher, he worked as a reporter for The Telegraph in Alton, Ill. and at the Edwardsville Intelligencer in Edwardsville, Ill. He is a graduate from the Missouri School of Journalism. He enjoys camping and hiking all throughout the West during the summer with his wife Jackie (who is also a teacher at Liberty) and his daughters Samantha (10) and Gwyneth (6).

University of Missouri Liaison: Suzette Heiman ([email protected])

Suzette Heiman is a professor in strategic communication for the Missouri School of Journalism. She spearheaded the 2008 centennial/dedication celebration for the School and the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute, a three-day event that attracted more than 2,500 alumni, students, faculty and others. She is the editor of “The J-School, The First Hundred Years of the World’s First School of Journalism,” the commemorative book published in 2010, and the textbook “Public Relations: The Profession and the Practice” (McGraw-Hill).

Activate Search
MJEA Board of Directors