Missouri JEA.

2017 Photo of the Year Winners

 The Missouri Journalism Education Association is pleased to announce the Photo of the Year State Award Winners.

  • Jordyn Tobias  from Parkway Central High School [photo] has  been named MJEA’s Feature Photo of the of the Year State Award Winner.
  • Katie Dames from Eureka High School [photo] and Katelyn Pinkley from Richland R-1 [photo] have been named MJEA’s Sports Photo of the Year State Award Winners.
  • Rachel Adamson from Winnetonka High School [photo] and Katelyn Pinkley from Richland R-1  [photo] have been named MJEA’s News Photo of the Year State Award Winners.
  • Gabryelle Campbell from North Kansas City High School [photo] and Emilie Kerr from Staley High School [photohave been named MJEA’s Portrait of the Year State Award Winners.

These students submitted impressive pieces of work from this school year that were selected as the winners by a highly-qualified judging team. This is a wonderful honor for all the students and the schools they represent and are indicative of the the high quality of their publications programs.

The MJEA Individual Student awards were designed to honor the very best in student writing, photography, design and video storytelling in Missouri by selecting one winner in each of 21 categories.

Other Finalists who will also receive certificates include:

  • Feature Photo: Jess Koeller, Eureka High School [photo]
  • Feature Photo:Taylor Styer, Marquette High School [photo]
  • Feature Photo: Shannon Erin, Blue Springs High School [photo]
  • Sports Photo: Alyssa Biles, Timberland High School [photo]
  • Sports Photo: Alex Gerchen, Clayton High School [photo]
  • News Photo: Katie Dames, Eureka High School [photo]
  • News Photo: Elizabeth Schrader, Lindbergh High School [photo]
  • News Photo: Ashli Wagner, Webster Groves High School [photo]
  • News Photo: Gabi Martinez, St. Teresa’s Academy [photo]
  • News Photo: Trudi Swegle, Staley High School [photo]
  • Portrait: Rachel Becker, Kearney High School [photo]
  • Portrait: Danielle Corgan, Liberty High School [photo]
  • Portrait: Bernadette Kornberger, Francis Howell North High School [photo]
Activate Search
The official site of the Missouri Journalism Education Association - an affiliate of JEA
2017 Photo of the Year Winners